A Devotion Inspired by “War Room”

-Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.-Philippians 4-6

“Prayer is what opens up the floodgates for God to come down and be involved in our everyday circumstances.” Priscilla Shirer

After watching “War Room” a couple weeks ago, I felt so inspired. As soon as the movie was over, I decided that I wanted my prayer life to be as purposeful as it was for the characters. They had a specific place for praying, and they allowed a lot of time for prayer in their days.

  • Do you have a certain place that you like to pray? Do you think having a place like this would help you commit to prayer?

Often, I say a quick prayer as I think of requests throughout the day. These prayers are valuable, but they don’t allow me a lot of time for fellowship with God. The times that I really feel God’s presence are when I am fully focused on praying. After I spend time in prayer with God, I feel closer to him. If I’m praying about a worry, I feel better right away because I know He will go before me and work things out. It’s important to view prayer as more than a way to get what we want from God. We should also see it a way to draw closer to Him and to refresh our souls. Prayer gives glory to God, and that is our whole purpose in life!

  • Do you give yourself enough time for prayer everyday? Is there a time that you could set aside for prayer every day?

“One of those days Jesus went out to a mountainside to pray, and spent the night praying to God.” Luke 6:12

Jesus spent the whole night praying. That’s longer than I’ve ever spent praying, but we should model our lives after His. It’s obvious from this passage that prayer is important enough to spend large chunks of time doing.

In case you ever feel like you don’t know what to pray for, find comfort in the fact that the Holy Spirit helps us as we pray.

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.” Romans 8:26

I loved how “War Room” showed us how life-changing prayer can be. God is mighty, and He has compassion for us. If we seek Him in prayer, He will hear us. Nothing is to big for Him, so don’t be afraid to pray for what you need!

“The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” Psalm 145:18

Leave a Reply

